Welcome!

Hi there, and welcome to my blog!  I’ve created this blog as part of my class, ECMP 355.  I’m new to blogging and keeping a web page up to date, so this will be a learning experience for me!

For the last couple of days I have been working on my teaching resume and researching school divisions.  I’ve been doing both of these things on the computer.  This got me to wondering, how did teachers research schools and school divisions before the internet?

I have been looking up everything from what area a school division covers, what grades the school includes, and what the school’s values and beliefs are.  I’m really glad that schools are now so accessible via the internet.  With just a few clicks you can know the main events going on at the school, learn how to get in touch with the staff, and what the school is all about- very important things to know if you are considering to apply with that school.

I have been heavily relying on the internet and each school division’s website to provide me with background information so that I can decide if I would like to work for them.  But really, how did teachers gather enough information about a school and/or school division to make an informed decision before the internet?

3 Responses to Welcome!

  1. courosa says:

    Good question. Back when I first was looking for jobs, it was all about knowing Directors and principals. And today, it still is.

    Information was definitely harder to find about the school districts, but there also may have been less of an expectation to know it all. Today, you better be up on what’s on the website!

  2. Alan Stange says:

    “How did teachers research schools and school divisions before the internet?” The answer is word of mouth and the Leader Post. When I began teaching there were multiple pages of teaching positions listed in the spring. I think I was far less discriminating than you can be now.

  3. kaileymonson says:

    I totally agree with what you said Alec. Now that I’ve gone on a few interviews (and got a job!), it became very obvious to me that knowing the right people plays a HUGE role in finding a job.

Leave a Reply

